Dermot Walsh Net Worth

Dermot Walsh was born on September 10, 1924 in  Dublin, Ireland, Ireland, is Actor. Dublin-born stage actor, producer and writer Dermot Walsh was the son of a journalist and educated at Dublin's St. Mary's College and National University, initially focusing on law. He studied drama at the Abbey Theatre School of Acting and built up his reputation performing at the Gate Theatre in Dublin. Some talent scouts in Ireland interested in making some pictures about his homeland happened to spot him in a production and eventually signed him up after he had made a choice move to London to further his career.His first postwar film role was a bit part as a chauffeur in Bedelia (1946), but after signing with Rank he was groomed immediately for prime parts. In only his second feature he showcased well as the philandering "Wild Johnnie" in Hungry Hill (1947). He became a strong fixture for Rank in plush Gainsborough's Victorian costumers or crime melodramas such as Jassy (1947) and The Mark of Cain (1947), To the Public Danger (1948) and My Sister and I (1948) opposite such lovelies as Margaret Lockwood, Glynis Johns, Sally Ann Howes and Hazel Court, the last mentioned becoming his wife in 1949.In 1949 the dark, dashingly handsome actor left Rank and began to freelance in assembly-line programmers such as Torment (1950), and co-starred with wife Hazel in two of them: Ghost Ship (1952) and Counterspy (1953). Keyed in to playing hard-boiled characters in rather murky thrillers, frustration set in when he was unable to extricate himself from his "B" reputation. He later focused on TV work, including the adventure series Richard the Lionheart (1962), and the theatre. Some of his more prominent stage work over the years included "Reluctant Heroes" (1950), "Relations Are Best Apart" (1954), "Mary, Mary" (1963), "Ring of Jackals" (1965), "Lady Frederick" (1970), and "No Sex Please, We're British" (1986), not to mention an abundance of cat-and-mouse whodunnits including "Murder Among Friends" (1978), "Who Killed Agatha Christie?" (1979) and "The Mousetrap" (1980). He also wrote the play "The Murder Line" in 1967 and produced a few of his later endeavors such as "Stage Struck" and "Blithe Spirit" both in 1982.Walsh was married three times in all -- divorcing twice and surviving his third wife Elisabeth Scott, who died in 1993. He had four children from his three marriages: Sally, Michael, Olivia, and Elisabeth (also an actress). He died on June 26, 2002 at age 77.
Dermot Walsh is a member of Actor

Age, Biography and Wiki

Who is it? Actor
Birth Day September 10, 1924
Birth Place  Dublin, Ireland, Ireland
Died On 26 June 2002(2002-06-26) (aged 77)\nTunbridge Wells, Kent, England
Birth Sign Libra
Spouse(s) Hazel Court (m. 1949; div. 1963) Diana Scougall (m. 1968; div. 1974) Elizabeth Madeleine Annear (m. 1974; d. 1993)
Children 4, including Elisabeth Dermot Walsh

💰 Net worth: Under Review

Some Dermot Walsh images



In 1945 Walsh moved to Britain and briefly joined the Croydon Repertory. Upon his return to Dublin he was spotted by a talent scout from the Rank Organisation. This led to parts in Bedelia, Hungry Hill and The Mark of Cain, and the beginning of Walsh's career in film. He appeared in seven films as a leading man, before returning to the theatre. Walsh later resumed his film career in a series of B movies. He appeared in over forty films made for film and a hundred for television, making his final film appearance in 1983.


Walsh was married three times. His married Actress Hazel Court in 1949, and the couple had daughter Sally (1950) before divorcing in 1963. He next married Actress Diana Scougall in 1968, and the couple had son Michael (1969) before divorcing in 1974. He married Actress Elizabeth Annear that same year, and the couple had two daughters, Actress Elisabeth Dermot Walsh (1974) and Olivia (1977), before Elizabeth Annear died in 1993.


Walsh's television work included appearances in Danger Man, No Hiding Place and Softly, Softly. He played the title role in the 39 half-hour episodes series Richard the Lionheart between 1962 and 1963.